Florida Home Health Aide Certification Requirements

The state of Florida has no state administered test for HHA and there is no state law that requires licensing or certification in Florida. It is the discretion of the Florida Home health care agency you wish to work to test your competency of your HHA skill knowledge. This is the reason why it is important to use a legitimate, affordable and convenient HHA training course.

Some home health agencies provide training for persons that they employ as home health aides.  Some home health agencies may offer a competency test to persons they employ instead of the training.  Check the HHA Jobs section of our website to find out which home health agencies have job openings and training for home health aides.  

To work for a Medicare or Medicaid home health agency or licensed-only agency, a home health aide must complete at least 40-75 hours of training and/or successfully complete a competency evaluation given by the home health agency.  All home health aides must complete an HIV/AIDS training course. They also are required to obtain and maintain a current certificate in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).  

Many local public vocational technical schools and online schools offer home health aide courses. To find a course in your area, go to our Florida HHA course page.  Many of these Florida HHA courses range in $200-$1250 range and require to attend an in person class and adjust your schedule. 

We have found the #1 Florida Home Health Aide online course for under $100, that is available anywhere with an internet connection and is used by many home care agencies all over Florida to conveniently and affordably train their employees for their competency exam (including CPR and HIV/AID courses). The best part is there is a qualified instructor to answer your questions by phone or email 24/7. 

Ready to prepare for your FL HHA competency exam conveniently from home, at a affordable price anywhere with a internet connection? Click here